Just got an SW-3B. Any advice ?

Do you have a question about choosing a radio, installing an antenna, or are you simply seeking advice about getting started in QRP and field radio? This is a place where you can ask your questions and seek guidance from a wide variety of radio enthusiasts. No questions are too simple. You will be treated with respect here.
K8RBV

Just got an SW-3B. Any advice ?

Post by K8RBV »

New to QRP and just got an SW-3b. Have the manual and the repair manual. Would welcome advice and info. Most interested in very portable antennas, quick to put up.

Also a Bioenno battery question. I assume they need a specific charger, but it is unclear to me if they are sold WITH a charger or not. Sources seem unclear on this.

Bob, K8RBV
Brian - K3ES

Re: Just got an SW-3B. Any advice ?

Post by Brian - K3ES »

Hi Bob,

I have no experience with the SW-3B, but can offer some thoughts on your other questions...

Easiest first. Bioenno sells LiFePO4 chemistry batteries. They are more expensive than some similar chemistry batteries, but I appreciate the consistency and support that comes from a brand name. LiFePO4 is much lighter than Pb-based battery systems, and it has a much flatter discharge curve. LiFePO4 batteries also have very long life (2000+ discharge/recharge cycles). LiFePO4 is also more stable and forgiving than other Li-based chemistries (Li-ion and Li-polymer). You need a charger designed for LiFePO4 chemistry, and you can get one from Bioenno when you buy the battery. If I remember correctly, the charger is around $20. Think through your operating style before buying the battery. If you're like me and want to be able to carry your station on your back, extra weight adds up. I can easily work for hours on the smallest (3 Ah) battery pack.